Birnbaum announces annual D’Arcy-McGee Citizenship Medal ceremony

David Birnbaum, member of the National Assembly for the riding of D’Arcy-McGee today announced the creation of a yearly ceremony to honor up to three riding residents for “outstanding achievement in community involvement”.  The National Assembly makes available to MNAs a handsomely-cast medal that can be bestowed for such purposes. The first D’Arcy-McGee Citizenship Medals will be announced at a public ceremony on Monday, June 22, 2015. The winners, to be recognized for a single initiative or a long-standing commitment, will be chosen by a blue-ribbon jury composed of three former D’Arcy-McGee MNAs: Dr. Victor Goldbloom, Justice Herbert Marx and Lawrence Bergman, each of whom served as Ministers during their lengthy and proud careers.

“I’m privileged to serve a riding population that consistently distinguishes itself by its community involvement, compassion and leadership,” Birnbaum noted. “We are all beneficiaries of their dedication, and I look forward to this formal opportunity to show our recognition.”  

The successful nominees will have touched and enriched the lives of riding residents and possibly, had a positive impact beyond the riding. The nominees’ dedication to community engagement will have been most substantially, but not necessarily exclusively, exercised in a volunteer capacity. All nominations must be submitted, using the form below, and signed by a riding resident or by an organization or group situated in and/or serving the riding. The nomination will include a short biography of the nominee, brief description of achievements, the names of any organizations involved/enriched by the achievements and at least one supporting letter or document that might be helpful in the selection. 

The decisions of the jury will be final. The jury reserves the right, based on the quality and quantity of the applications, to bestow one, two or three medals in any given year. Nominations will be treated as confidential. The names of individuals who are not selected in a given year can be re-submitted for consideration in future years. Every effort will be made in the selections to reflect the diversity within the riding, the contributions of women, young people and seniors. 

The deadline for submissions to the D’Arcy-McGee office (5800 Cavendish Boul., suite 403, Cote St. Luc, QC, H4W 2T5) or by e-mail,, is Friday, May 29th, 2015 at 3 p.m. The entry form is available below.


For further information, please contact Elisabeth Prass, Bureau Chief at 514-488-7028: 


 >> Download the Application Form (PDF)



Share this