Mayors from the Association of Suburban Municipalities Unanimously Oppose Charter of Quebec Values

September 11, 2013 -- The mayors of the 15 demerged municipalities on the island of Montreal unanimously oppose the Charter of Quebec Values proposed by the Marois government.

This plan reveals a conscious denial of the multicultural reality of Montreal and will only lead to division and exclusion. The plan threatens the rights and freedoms guaranteed in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and the Quebec Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms.

The Association of Suburban Municipalities (ASM) suggests that the Marois government focus instead on pressing problems such as Quebec’s spiralling debt, crumbling infrastructure, and stagnating economy. 

The ASM represents 15 municipalities on the Island of Montreal, with an approximate population of 242 600 citizens. These municipalities are Dollard-Des-Ormeaux, Côte-Saint-Luc, Pointe-Claire, Kirkland, Westmount, Beaconsfield, Town of Mount Royal, Dorval, Hampstead, Montreal West, Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Baie-D’Urfé, Montreal East, Senneville and Dorval Island.


- 30 -

Contact: Bruce St-Louis 514-989-5273

Share this